top of page

HELGA and ELISABETH

The interviews

Helga and Elisabeth come from a so-called mixed marriage. The Jewish father was a medical doctor, the mother Christian. This meant that the sisters, as so-called half-Jews with a so-called "German-blooded" mother, were initially spared from deportation. However, that did not change the everyday harassment. The father was first deported to Buchenwald and released after a year as a broken man on condition that he leave the German Reich immediately. A passage by ship to Shanghai, where he wanted to gain second professional foothold and to catch up with the family for a new life, turned out to be a hoax. Ultimately, the Auschwitz concentration camp was the temporary end of his life's journey.

The grace period ended for the sisters when Helga reached her fourteenth year. The Theresienstadt ghetto was now their destiny. The mother went with her voluntarily and took the only six-year-old Elisabeth with her. While Theresienstadt initially seemed to be the lesser evil, that soon changed. Hunger, neglect and death became part of everyday life, accompanied by slave work, total disenfranchisement and humiliation.

Circle of Truth
Zeitzeugen Interviews

Interview excerpt in progress

Ms. Dr. Helga Feldner-Busztin was born in 1929. Her school attendance was first prohibited by the Nazis. Next, the Gestapo was at the front door. In the Theresienstadt ghetto, Helga had to do slave work and, thanks to the luck and cleverness of her mother, escaped deportation to the Auschwitz death camp. She became an internist in her second life and practiced until old age.

Interview excerpt in progress

Ms. Elisabeth Scheiderbauer was born in 1936. She   came to the Theresienstadt ghetto at the age of six. Because she was rebellious, she was taken to a house with mentally handicapped children and luckily escaped gassing. In her second life, Elisabeth studied dance and belonged among others also the ensemble of the Volksoper Vienna. She ran a film company with her husband until her retirement. 

"THE SURVIVING OF THERESIENSTADT NEARS A MIRACLE."

Quote: Elisabeth Scheiderbauer

NO VOICE CAN BE LOST

It is our duty to hear the voice of those who survive tyranny, and they also say for the dead.
Circle of Truth
bottom of page

top of page

HELGA und ELISABETH

Die Interviews

Helga und Elisabeth entstammen einer sogenannten Mischehe. Der jüdische Vater war Arzt, die Mutter christlich. Das bedeutete, dass den Schwestern als sogenannte Halbjüdinnen mit einer sogenannten "deutschblutigen" Mutter, vorerst eine Deportation erspart blieb. Allerdings änderte das nichts an den alltäglichen Schikanen. Der Vater wurde zuerst nach Buchenwald deportiert und nach einem Jahr als gebrochener Mann entlassen unter der Auflage das Reichsgebiet umgehend zu verlassen. Eine Schiffspassage nach Shanghai, er wollte dort Fuß fassen und seine Familie nachholen, entpuppte sich als aufgelegter Schwindel. Das KZ Auschwitz war letztlich das vorläufige Ende seiner Lebensreise.

Die Schonfrist endete für die Schwestern, als Helga ihr vierzehntes Lebensjahr erreichte. Das Ghetto Theresienstadt war nunmehr ihre Bestimmung. Die Mutter ging freiwillig mit und nahm die erst sechsjährige Elisabeth mit. Schien Theresienstadt vorerst noch das geringere Übel zu sein, änderte sich das bald. Hunger, Verwahrlosung und Tod wurden zum Alltag, begleitet von Zwangsarbeit, völlige Entrechtung und Erniedrigung.

Kreis der Wahrheit
Zeitzeugen Interviews

Interview Ausschnitt in Arbeit

Frau Dr.Helga Feldner-Busztin, Jahrgang 1929, wurde erst der Schulbesuch untersagt. Als nächstes stand die Gestapo vor der Haustüre. Im Ghetto Theresienstadt musste Helga Zwangsarbeit verrichten und entging durch Glück und Klugheit ihrer Mutter der Deportation ins Vernichtungslager Auschwitz. Sie wurde in ihrem zweiten Leben Internistin und hat bis ins hohe Alter praktiziert.

Interview Ausschnitt in Arbeit

Frau Elisabeth Scheiderbauer,

Jahrgang 1936, kam als Sechsjährige ins Ghetto Theresienstadt. Weil sie sich rebellisch zeigte, wurde sie in ein Haus mit geistig behinderten Kindern verbracht und entging durch Glück der Vergasung. In ihrem zweiten Leben studierte Elisabeth Tanz und gehörte u. a. zum Ensemble der Wiener Volksoper. Erst nach der Befreiung sah sie erstmals eine Schule von innen.

"DASS WIR THERESIENSTADT ÜBERLEBT HABEN, GRENZT AN EIN WUNDER."

Zitat: Elisabeth Scheiderbauer

KEINE STIMME
DARF VERLOREN GEHEN

Es ist unser aller Pflicht, die Stimme jener zu hören, die Tyrannei überleben.
Sie sprechen auch für die Toten.
Kreis der Wahrheit
bottom of page